Valentines Day

Stephanie G

Valentines Day, a day when couples express their love for one another by planning little surprises, making IMG_0430reservations at a favorite restaurant, or giving a box of chocolates and a giant plush toy. Sometimes things change when you get married, sometimes they don’t. Everything changes when you have children. Money is a bit tighter, you have to find a baby sitter for the evening and not to mention, the energy to go out.

423216_2608746148449_64968784_nI am a hopeless romantic. I always think of the possibilities of what we could do for Valentines Day. My husband, he’s not much of a romantic. He’s managed to provide a few romantic moments. Our first Valentines Day, he wrote a beautiful song on the guitar and also got a giant pink hedgehog for me… I still have it. Our second, we decided to just go to dinner and a movie since we were busy getting ready for our wedding. Our third, we had our first daughter, and we decided to spend most of it together as a family and just have dinner at the Olive Garden. After that, Valentines Day just seemed to lose priority. He did try by bringing me a tiny pink plush lemur, a Dr.Pepper and a rose. I appreciated the thought and happily accepted. Last year, nothing was planned. I decided to buy myself a box of chocolates and a tiny plush elephant to go with my lonely lemur. I also bought Mr.Garza a box of chocolates.

This year, we’re talking about staying home, and maybe I’ll just make us some lovely steak sandwiches. I IMG_0428try not to expect much, so I don’t have any hopes to let down. I feel I don’t need a day to tell him or show him how much I love and appreciate him. I know that even if he’s given up on this one day, our marriage will not fall apart. He shows me day in and day out how much he loves me. I mean, the best part of being a SHM is the sexual harassment from the boss. So remember what you have. Forget about today and remember the wonderful person you have tomorrow and everyday after.

To all you new happy couples out there, Happy Valentines Day. Enjoy the fresh new love you have, and I hope it grows into something beautiful.

And my Valentines gift to you all, a famous love letter:

Beethoven to his “Immortal Beloved”

“Though still in bed, my thoughts go out to you, my Immortal Beloved, Be calm-love me-today-yesterday-what tearful longings for you-you-you-my life-my all-farewell. Oh continue to love me-never misjudge the most faithful heart of your beloved. Ever thine. Ever mine. Ever ours.”

S Garza

Leave a Reply

