My Engagement Story

Stephanie G

We started dating January of 2009. I was going through a divorce, something I never planned for my life. Fortunately, there were no children or assets involved so it was quick and clean. The divorce was final that June. Marriage was not something that I thought of at the moment. I knew one day I would want to get remarried, I did not know that it would be so soon.

The end of summer that year we had a BBQ, an end of summer bash. After everything was over to our surprise, everyone assumed that Mr. Garza was going to propose to me. This was the first time we thought about marriage. Soon after, we decided to go pick out a ring. Immediately after picking a ring, his grandmother fell ill and we decided then to announce our engagement. We did not expect her to pass away 2 weeks later. We decided to wait to continue with wedding plans.

January 2010, we were all feeling much better about the loss and ready to move forward. He had the ring and decided he wanted to propose rather than just give it to me. So the waiting began… a romantic dinner, a get together at his best friend’s, meeting all my friends for karaoke and nothing. Finally, he told me he wanted to take me to Schlitterbahn. It’s a water park, during the holiday season they create a skating rink and decorate the park with lights. I knew this was it.

We begin our evening walking around the park watching the different shows and carolers. After hot chocolate and pizza, we were walking down Candy Cane Lane. I had given up hope that this was the night; we were heading to the gate to leave. He stopped for a moment and asked me, “Can you do me a favor and hold this?” handing me the pizza box. Then again, “Can you do me another favor…” Assuming he was referring to his drink, I hold my hand out and he hands me the little white box, “…will you marry me?” I think we can all guess what I said next.

S Garza

4 thoughts on “My Engagement Story

Leave a Reply

